What Is Love?

WHAT
IS
LOVE?

How can you say you love me when you don’t know what love is?

WHAT IS LOVE?

What is love? According to our own understanding of what love is we think that love is caring for someone, wanting the best for them, not wanting them to see harm, or unhappy. These things are all true, but if we look at what God tells us Love is, we are not operating in love but out of our own lust and pride.
Another misconception is that Love is charity, and charity is Love. This is not true. Charity is part of Love but only part. Would charity kill you? Would charity let you get sick because you done something wrong? Let me explain. God says, the wages of sin is death. The soul that sinneth shall surely die. God cannot live according to our rules because He is Love. God does not love because he can, but because He “is” Love. We are sinners and when we sin, God’s law of sin and death says, we must be punished.
1 Timothy|1:8 But we know that the law is good, if a man use it lawfully;
1 Timothy|1:9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,
1 Timothy|1:10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;
1 Timothy|1:11 According to the glorious gospel of the blessed God, which was committed to my trust.

Leviticus|26:1 Ye shall make you no idols nor graven image, neither rear you up a standing image, neither shall ye set up any image of stone in your land, to bow down unto it: for I am the LORD your God.
Leviticus|26:2 Ye shall keep my sabbaths, and reverence my sanctuary: I am the LORD.
Leviticus|26:3 If ye walk in my statutes, and keep my commandments, and do them;
Leviticus|26:4 “Then” I will give you rain in due season, and the land shall yield her increase, and the trees of the field shall yield their fruit.
Leviticus|26:5 And your threshing shall reach unto the vintage, and the vintage shall reach unto the sowing time: and ye shall eat your bread to the full, and dwell in your land safely.
Leviticus|26:6 And I will give peace in the land, and ye shall lie down, and none shall make you afraid: and I will rid evil beasts out of the land, neither shall the sword go through your land.
Leviticus|26:7 And ye shall chase your enemies, and they shall fall before you by the sword.
Leviticus|26:8 And five of you shall chase an hundred, and an hundred of you shall put ten thousand to flight: and your enemies shall fall before you by the sword.
Leviticus|26:9 For I will have respect unto you, and make you fruitful, and multiply you, and establish my covenant with you.
Leviticus|26:10 And ye shall eat old store, and bring forth the old because of the new.
Leviticus|26:11 And I will set my tabernacle among you: and my soul shall not abhor you. (Abhor- Hate)
Leviticus|26:12 And I will walk among you, and will be your God, and ye shall be my people.
Leviticus|26:13 I am the LORD your God, which brought you forth out of the land of Egypt, that ye should not be their bondmen; and I have broken the bands of your yoke, and made you go upright.
Leviticus|26:14 But if ye will not hearken unto me, and will not do all these commandments;
Leviticus|26:15 And if ye shall despise my statutes, or if your soul abhor my judgments, so that ye will not do all my commandments, but that ye break my covenant:
Leviticus|26:16 I also will do this unto you; I will even appoint over you terror, consumption, and the burning ague, that shall consume the eyes, and cause sorrow of heart: and ye shall sow your seed in vain, for your enemies shall eat it.
Leviticus|26:17 And I will set my face against you, and ye shall be slain before your enemies: they that hate you shall reign over you; and ye shall flee when none pursueth you.
Leviticus|26:18 And if ye will not yet for all this hearken unto me, then I (God) will punish you seven times more for your sins.
Leviticus|26:19 And I will break the pride of your power; and I will make your heaven as iron, and your earth as brass:
Leviticus|26:20 And your strength shall be spent in vain: for your land shall not yield her increase, neither shall the trees of the land yield their fruits.
Leviticus|26:21 And if ye walk contrary unto me, and will not hearken unto me; I will bring seven times more plagues upon you according to your sins.
Leviticus|26:22 I will also send wild beasts among you, which shall rob you of your children, and destroy your cattle, and make you few in number; and your high ways shall be desolate.
Leviticus|26:23 And if ye will not be reformed by me by these things, but will walk contrary unto me;
Leviticus|26:24 Then will I also walk contrary unto you, and will punish you yet seven times for your sins.
Leviticus|26:25 And I will bring a sword upon you, that shall avenge the quarrel of my covenant: and when ye are gathered together within your cities, I will send the pestilence among you; and ye shall be delivered into the hand of the enemy.
Leviticus|26:26 And when I have broken the staff of your bread, ten women shall bake your bread in one oven, and they shall deliver you your bread again by weight: and ye shall eat, and not be satisfied.
Leviticus|26:27 And if ye will not for all this hearken unto me, but walk contrary unto me;
Leviticus|26:28 Then I will walk contrary unto you also “in fury”; and I, even I, will chastise you seven times for your sins.
Leviticus|26:29 And ye shall eat the flesh of your sons, and the flesh of your daughters shall ye eat.
Leviticus|26:30 And I will destroy your high places, and cut down your images, and cast your carcases upon the carcases of your idols, and my soul shall abhor you. (Abhor- Hate)
Leviticus|26:31 And I will make your cities waste, and bring your sanctuaries unto desolation, and I will not smell the savour of your sweet odours.
Leviticus|26:32 And I will bring the land into desolation: and your enemies which dwell therein shall be astonished at it.
Leviticus|26:33 And I will scatter you among the heathen, and will draw out a sword after you: and your land shall be desolate, and your cities waste.
Leviticus|26:34 Then shall the land enjoy her sabbaths, as long as it lieth desolate, and ye be in your enemies’ land; even then shall the land rest, and enjoy her sabbaths.
Leviticus|26:35 As long as it lieth desolate it shall rest; because it did not rest in your sabbaths, when ye dwelt upon it.
Leviticus|26:36 And upon them that are left alive of you I will send a faintness into their hearts in the lands of their enemies; and the sound of a shaken leaf shall chase them; and they shall flee, as fleeing from a sword; and they shall fall when none pursueth.
Leviticus|26:37 And they shall fall one upon another, as it were before a sword, when none pursueth: and ye shall have no power to stand before your enemies.
Leviticus|26:38 And ye shall perish among the heathen, and the land of your enemies shall eat you up.
Leviticus|26:39 And they that are left of you shall pine away in their iniquity in your enemies’ lands; and also in the iniquities of their fathers shall they pine away with them.
Leviticus|26:40 If they shall confess their iniquity, and the iniquity of their fathers, with their trespass which they trespassed against me, and that also they have walked contrary unto me;
Leviticus|26:41 And that I also have walked contrary unto them, and have brought them into the land of their enemies; if then their uncircumcised hearts be humbled, and they then accept of the punishment of their iniquity:
Leviticus|26:42 “Then” will I remember my covenant with Jacob, and also my covenant with Isaac, and also my covenant with Abraham will I remember; and I will remember the land.
Leviticus|26:43 The land also shall be left of them, and shall enjoy her sabbaths, while she lieth desolate without them: and they shall accept of the punishment of their iniquity: because, even because they despised my judgments, and because their soul abhorred my statutes.
Leviticus|26:44 And yet for all that, when they be in the land of their enemies, I will not cast them away, neither will I abhor them, to destroy them utterly, and to break my covenant with them: for I am the LORD their God.
Leviticus|26:45 But I will for their sakes remember the covenant of their ancestors, whom I brought forth out of the land of Egypt in the sight of the heathen, that I might be their God: I am the LORD.
Leviticus|26:46 These are the statutes and judgments and laws, which the LORD made between him and the children of Israel in mount Sinai by the hand of Moses.

1 John|4:8 He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.
Because he “is” Love and we are sinners, we must change, not Him. God has His ways that are not our ways, and they are hidden from us.
2 Corinthians|3:12 Seeing then that we have such hope, we use great plainness of speech:
2 Corinthians|3:13 And not as Moses, which put a veil over his face, that the children of Israel could not stedfastly look to the end of that which is abolished:
2 Corinthians|3:14 But their minds were blinded: for until this day remaineth the same veil untaken away in the reading of the old testament; which veil is done away in Christ.
2 Corinthians|3:15 But even unto this day, when Moses is read, the veil is upon their heart.
2 Corinthians|3:16 Nevertheless when it (Their heart) shall turn to the Lord, the veil shall be taken away.

The reason that they are hid from us is there are some things, if we understood them without the Holy Ghost, would hurt God’s people. The heart of man is wicked above all things, but God wants us not to be wicked. As long as a man lives life his way, he can never be blessed of God, because his nature in him is at war with God.
Romans|8:6 For to be carnally minded is death; but to be
spiritually minded is life and peace.
Romans|8:7 Because the carnal mind ( the words flesh and carnal are interchangeable spiritual words meaning uneducated in God’s word) Because the carnal mind is enmity against God: (enmity-At war) for it is not subject to the law of God, neither indeed can be.
Romans|8:8 So then they that are in the flesh cannot please God.
When we were born into this world we were born sinners because of the sin of Adam. There is no one born into this world that is not born a sinner, even new born babes, if there were they would not have to accept Jesus as their Saviour, and Jesus would have died in vain. Jesus said in John 3:18
John|3:18 He that believeth on him is not condemned: “but he that believeth not is condemned already”, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.
Note the word “already”, we are already condemned by the sin of Adam.
Another scripture:
John|2:23 Now when he was in Jerusalem at the passover, in the feast day, many believed in his name, when they saw the miracles which he did.
John|2:24 But Jesus did not commit himself unto them, because he knew all men,
John|2:25 And needed not that any should testify of man: “for he knew what was in man”.
Jesus also said,
John|3:6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.
To say it another way,
That which is born of the flesh is “carnal”, ungodly, not lead by the Spirit of God.
As we look again at John chapter three we will see that Jesus told us what the condemnation was against the carnal man that did not know God’s ways.
John|3:19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, (Light- God in Jesus Christ) and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.
The condemnation was their deeds were evil. The condemnation was Jesus Christ’s life exposed the wickedness in all of mankinds life.
John|8:3 And the scribes and Pharisees brought unto him a woman taken in adultery; and when they had set her in the midst,
John|8:4 They say unto him, Master, this woman was taken in adultery, in the very act.
John|8:5 Now Moses in the law commanded us, that such should be stoned: but what sayest thou?
John|8:6 This they said, tempting him, that they might have to accuse him. But Jesus stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground, as though he heard them not.
John|8:7 So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.
John|8:8 And again he stooped down, and wrote on the ground.
John|8:9 And they which heard it, being convicted by their own conscience, went out one by one, beginning at the eldest, even unto the last: and Jesus was left alone, and the woman standing in the midst.
John|8:10 When Jesus had lifted up himself, and saw none but the woman, he said unto her, Woman, where are those thine accusers? hath no man condemned thee?
John|8:11 She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more.
Jesus knew that all men were sinners because of the sin of Adam and no one was without sin before God but Himself so when the Scribes and Pharisees hear Jesus say these things the scriptures tell us that “ being convicted by their own conscience” they left, beginning at the eldest. You see even our own conscience condemns us in the carnal mind. This is why we need a Saviour, a Saviour with power over the devil who has power over our mind to steal, kill, and destroy. Without Jesus we could do nothing because the battle is in the mind. Jesus tells us through Paul,
Romans|11:32 For God hath concluded them “all in unbelief”, that he might have mercy upon all.
Romans|11:33 O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!
Romans|11:34 For who hath known the mind of the Lord? or who hath been his counsellor?
Romans|11:35 Or who hath first given to him, and it shall be recompensed unto him again?
Romans|11:36 For of him, and through him, and to him, are “all” things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen.

Romans|12:1 I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.
Romans|12:2 And be not conformed to this world: “but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind”, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.

Again in another place we are commanded:
2 Timothy|2:15 Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.
Again:
John|8:31 Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;
John|8:32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

So what is Love?
2 John|1:6 And this is love, that we walk after his commandments.
So what is love? That we walk after His commandments. Which ones? All of them. Can I just keep part of them? Did Jesus just keep part of them?
How do we know we love other people?
1 John|5:2 By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God, and keep his commandments.

How do we receive love from God?
1 John|5:3 For this is the love of God, that we keep his
commandments:

What did Jesus say was the sign that we loved Him?

John|14:21 “He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me”: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.
John|14:22 Judas saith unto him, not Iscariot, Lord, how is it that thou wilt manifest thyself unto us, and not unto the world?
John|14:23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

What did Jesus say was the sign that a person did not love Him?

John|14:24 He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me.
John|14:25 These things have I spoken unto you, being yet present with you.
John|14:26 But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

What did Paul tell us about this and the sign?

1 John|2:4 He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, “is a liar”, and the truth is not in him. (Truth is the word, commandment.)
1 John|2:5 But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are “in him”.

There is another sign and that sign is hearing what comes out of a persons mouth. If their not of God all they want to talk about is things of the world and not things of God. When you talk about God they want to change the subject, but on the other hand they that are of God are eager to hear about the things of God and want to hear more about the thinks of God.

1 John|4:1 Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.
1 John|4:2 Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God:
1 John|4:3 And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.
1 John|4:4 Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.
1 John|4:5 They are of the world: therefore speak they of the world, and the world heareth them.
1 John|4:6 We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error.

About robertebarger

I am 68 years young and am a believer in Jesus Christ as the scriptures teaches. I was saved, and recieved the Holy Ghost when I was twelve years old, but when I turned thirty-five years old my world fell apart and I called out WHY GOD? The Lord lead me to start reading the Bible, (King James Verison 1611) and He showed me as I studied in the Word of God, this is why, this is why, this is why. From that time on I was studying the word of God sometimes ten and twelve hours a day plus praying and fasting. Love God, writing, Photography, Music, guitar, people, science, travel, teaching the word of God, life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Is Love?

  1. Pingback: What Is Love? | robertebarger

Leave a Reply

